Unterwerfungen

Philipp Gufler
December 8th – January 28th, 2023

W/ Cheap Collective, Sunil Gupta, Eli Hill and Students of the Leuphana University: Jana Baasner, Lotte Brandenburger, Lea Hensel, Lena Hinrichs, Maike Huber, Luna Jakob, Helene Jakob, Sasha Lehmann, Lola Oberholzner, Caro Ruddigkeit, Rosa M. Stemm, Emilia Warzecha, Max Wäsch.

Kunstraum of the Leuphana University Lüneburg is delighted to announce the opening of Philipp Gufler´s solo exhibition “Unterwerfungen”. Bringing together old and new works and structured by Gufler’s ongoing collaboration with the self-organized Forum Queeres Archiv München, “Unterwerfungen” tracks the various ways in which Gufler stages archival material, resisting the heteronormative capture of a resistant past.

The installation “I Wanna Give You Devotion” consists of six textile walls, covered with over 130 posters from the archive of the Forum. The tender and temporary architecture houses an “archive of feelings” (Ann Cvetkovich) that registers the affective dimensions of documenting and recording queer cultures. Tethered to a heterotopic idea of the public, these posters communicate and conspire, tracing queer desire and life as well as ongoing struggles. With each presentation, Gufler has asked fellow friends and collaborators to make new posters in response to the Forum collection. At Kunstraum, we are presenting the newest additions by CHEAP Collective and Sunil Gupta. A publication, produced in collaboration with students from the Leuphana University Lüneburg, will be on display and may be picked up free of charge. The publication brings together the students´ individual and collective research into a selection of posters also shown in the installation.

Inside the installation, the 34-minute film “Projection on the Crisis (Gauweilereien in Munich)” is screened. Juxtaposing archival material from the Forum with artworks by friends and collaborators of Gufler, the video threads together stories of homophobia and queer resistance, with a particular focus on Peter Gauweiler’s homophobic policies at the height of the AIDS crisis in Bavaria. Loosely organized around a timeline, the camera’s almost uninterrupted tracking shot of the documents and artworks furthers the illusion of a progressive linearity, one that is revealed to be as much a function of a historical gaze, as an effect of technological dispositifs. A careful exploration of the synthetic nature of “the fictions of history” (Saidiya Hartman), the film articulates an emancipatory potential of making history.

As part of his ongoing Quilt series, Gufler has collaborated with the artist Eli Hill to produce for the exhibition his newest quilt, dealing with the legacy and memory of the philanthropist Reed Erickson (1917–92). One of the first trans men to undergo gender-confirming surgery in the US, Erickson systematically supported trans health care initiatives and members of the transgender community.

Philipp Gufler is an artist based in Munich and Amsterdam. He spans various media in his practice, including silkscreen prints on fabric and mirrors, artist books, performances, and video installations. Gufler is a member of the Forum Queeres Archiv München since 2013 and has participated in artist residencies at De Ateliers, Amsterdam; Skowhegan School of Painting & Sculpture, Maine; and Delfina Foundation, London. Artist books include Projection on the Crisis (2014 / 2021), I Wanna Give You Devotion (2017), Indirect Contact (2017), Quilt #01–#30 (2020), Lana Kaiser (2020), A Shrine to Aphrodite (2023) and Cosy bei Cosy (2023).

Unterwerfungen

Philipp Gufler
8.12.2022 – 28.1.2023

Mit Cheap Collective, Sunil Gupta, Eli Hill und Studierenden der Leuphana Universität: Jana Baasner, Lotte Brandenburger, Lea Hensel, Lena Hinrichs, Maike Huber, Luna Jakob, Helene Jakob, Sasha Lehmann, Lola Oberholzner, Caro Ruddigkeit, Rosa M. Stemm, Emilia Warzecha, Max Wäsch.

Der Kunstraum der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg freut sich, die Eröffnung der Einzelausstellung “Unterwerfungen” von Philipp Gufler bekannt zu geben. Gekennzeichnet von der langfristigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem selbstorganisierten Forum Queeres Archiv München, bringt “Unterwerfungen” alte und neue Arbeiten Guflers zusammen. Die Ausstellung dokumentiert Guflers vielschichtige Inszenierung von Archivmaterial und seiner Aktivierung widerständiger Vergangenheiten entgegen einer heteronormativen Geschichtsschreibung. 

Die Installation “I Wanna Give You Devotion” besteht aus sechs textilen Wänden, die mit über 130 Plakaten aus dem Archiv des Forums behangen sind. Die zarte und temporäre Architektur beherbergt ein “Archiv der Gefühle” (Ann Cvetkovich), das die affektiven Dimensionen der Dokumentation und Aufzeichnung queerer Kulturen erfasst. Die Plakate vermitteln eine heterotopische Vorstellung von Öffentlichkeit und fungieren gleichermaßen als Spuren von queerem Begehren, Leben und anhaltenden Kämpfen. Für jede Präsentation beauftragt Philipp Gufler Freund*innen und Kolleg*innen mit der Gestaltung neuer Plakate in Reaktion auf die Forum-Sammlung. Im Kunstraum werden erstmals die Posterentwürfe von dem Künstler*innekollektiv CHEAP, sowie dem Fotografen Sunil Gupta zu sehen sein. Daneben ist eine Publikation in Zusammenarbeit mit Studierenden der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg entstanden, die die individuellen und gemeinsamen Recherchen der Studierenden zu einer Auswahl der in der Installation gezeigten Postern zusammenführt. Sie kann vor Ort gelesen oder unentgeltlich mitgenommen werden.

Innerhalb der Installation “I Wanna Give You Devotion” wird der 34-minütige Film “Projektion auf eine Krise (Gauweilereien in München)” gezeigt. Das Video kombiniert Archivmaterial aus dem Forum mit Kunstwerken von Freund*innen und Kolleg*innen Guflers und fokussiert den aktivistischen Widerstand gegen den damaligen bayerischen Staatssekretär Peter Gauweiler und dessen homophober Politik auf dem Höhepunkt der AIDS-Krise in den 80er Jahren. Die fast ununterbrochene Kamerafahrt, die den lose um eine Zeitachse herum organisierten Dokumenten und Kunstwerken folgt, bestärkt die Illusion einer progressiven Linearität, die sich sowohl als Funktion eines historisierenden Blicks als auch als Effekt technologischer Dispositive entpuppt. Der Film ist eine sorgfältige Erkundung der synthetischen Natur “der Fiktionen der Geschichte” (Saidiya Hartman) und offenbart das emanzipatorische Potenzial widerständiger Geschichtsschreibung.

In Fortsetzung seiner Quilt-Serie hat Philipp Gufler mit dem Künstler Eli Hill zusammengearbeitet, um seinen neuesten Quilt für die Ausstellung zu produzieren. Dieser befasst sich mit dem Vermächtnis und der Erinnerung an den Philanthropen Reed Erickson (1917–1992) befasst. Als einer der ersten Transmänner, der sich in den USA einer geschlechtsangleichenden Operation unterzog, unterstütze Erickson zeitlebens Initiativen zur Gesundheitsversorgung von Transmenschen.

Philipp Gufler ist Künstler und lebt in München und Amsterdam. Seine Arbeiten umfassen verschiedene Medien, darunter Siebdrucke auf Stoff und Spiegel, Künstlerinnenbücher, Performances und Videoinstallationen. Gufler ist seit 2013 Mitglied des Forum Queeres Archiv München und hat an Künstlerinnenresidenzen bei De Ateliers, Amsterdam, der Skowhegan School of Painting & Sculpture, Maine, und der Delfina Foundation, London, teilgenommen. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen gehören Projection on the Crisis (2014/2021), I Wanna Give You Devotion (2017), Indirect Contact (2017), Quilt #01–#30 (2020), Lana Kaiser (2020), A Shrine to Aphrodite (2023) und Cosy bei Cosy (2023).