Bitsy Knox – W’etter,

Performance
Apr 10, 2024

In her inaugural performance as guest lecturer this May at Kunstraum, Bitsy Knox will enter into a correspondence with the rain. As Knox´s prerecorded voice mixes with the amplified sound of rainwater being pumped into the Kunstraum, a subjectivity emerges that is indivisible from the ontogenesis of bodies and materials in the space. Unfolding along an indeterminate dramaturgy, Knox investigates the porosity of the authorial ‘I’ as it finds itself in a heightened state of attention, conditioned by its constructed environment. A large lump of locally-sourced clay becomes the medium through which a shared language of call and response emerges. Its changing shape over the next four weeks attests to a collective exchange between Knox, the students and the weather. 

Bitsy Knox is a trans-disciplinary artist, radio maker, and writer. In recent years, she has performed or exhibited work at n.b.k. (Berlin), Klosterruine (Berlin), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin), Kunstverein Bielefeld, KW Institute for Contemporary Art (Berlin), Martin Gropius Bau (Berlin), TENT (Rotterdam), Exile Gallery (Vienna), Organhaus Art Centre (Chongqing), MACBA (Barcelona), and W139 (Amsterdam). Her writing has appeared in publications by e-flux, TABLOID Press, Pure Fyction, A Prior Magazine, and Sternberg Press, among others. Bitsy hosts theSomething Like on Cashmere Radio (Berlin) and 96.5 CHFR Hornby Island Community Radio. In recent years, she has worked with Performance Space New York, Kunstverein in Hamburg (with Montez Press Radio), Kölnischer Kunstverein, and Wellcome Trust/Mindscapes/Gropius Bau on radio programming. Bitsy Knox grew up on the unceded and ancestral territory of hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ and Sḵwx̱wú7mesh speaking peoples, the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations, also known as Vancouver, Canada. She lives in Berlin, Germany.

This performance is the first of three public events. On April 24, the artist Harkeerat Mangat will be a guest at Kunstraum and on May 8, there will be a screening of the films of Ellie Epp. All three events take place in the context of the Seminar Embodied Correspondences. A Practice-Based Seminar on Improvisation, taught by Knox.

Additional opening times on April 24 & May 8, noon - 4pm.

Bitsy Knox – W’etter,

Performance
10. April 2024, 18 Uhr

Zum Auftakt ihres Lehrauftrags im Kunstraum, sucht die Künstlerin Bitsy Knox den Dialog mit dem Regen. Während sich Knox’ aufgezeichnete Stimme mit dem verstärkten Geräusch des in den Kunstraum gepumpten Regenwassers vermischt, entsteht eine Subjektivität, die von der Ontogenese der Körper und Materialien im Raum nicht zu trennen ist. In der Performance untersucht Knox die Durchlässigkeit des auktorialen “Ichs”, das sich in einem gesteigerten Zustand der Aufmerksamkeit befindet, und sich bereitwillig seiner konstruierten Umgebung ausliefert. Ein großer Klumpen Ton, aus der Lüneburger Erde gewonnen, wird zum Medium, durch das eine geteilte Sprache von Call and Response entsteht. Seine sich im Laufe der nächsten vier Wochen verändernde Form zeugt von einem kollektiven Austausch zwischen Knox, den Studierenden und dem Wetter.

Bitsy Knox ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin, Radiomacherin und Autorin. In den letzten Jahren hat sie Arbeiten im n.b.k. (Berlin), in der Klosterruine (Berlin), im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin), im Kunstverein Bielefeld, in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art (Berlin), im Martin Gropius Bau (Berlin), im TENT (Rotterdam), in der Exile Gallery (Wien), im Organhaus Art Centre (Chongqing), im MACBA (Barcelona) und im W139 (Amsterdam) ausgestellt. Ihre Texte sind u. a. in den Publikationen von e-flux, TABLOID Press, Pure Fyction, A Prior Magazine und Sternberg Press erschienen. Bitsy moderiert die Sendung Something Like auf Cashmere Radio (Berlin) und 96.5 CHFR Hornby Island Community Radio. In den letzten Jahren hat sie mit dem Performance Space New York, dem Kunstverein in Hamburg (mit Montez Press Radio), dem Kölnischen Kunstverein und Wellcome Trust/Mindscapes/Gropius Bau an Radioprogrammen gearbeitet.

Bitsy Knox wuchs auf dem unabgetretenem Gebiet der Vorfahr*innen der hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ und Sḵwx̱wú7mesh sprechenden Völker auf, die xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) und səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nationen, auch bekannt als Vancouver, Kanada. Sie lebt in Berlin, Deutschland.

Diese Performance ist die erste von drei öffentlichen Veranstaltungen. Am 24. April wird der Künstler Harkeerat Mangat im Kunstraum zu Gast sein und am 8. Mai werden die Filme von Ellie Epp gezeigt.

Weitere Öffnungszeiten am 24. April und 8. Mai, jeweils von 12 bis 16 Uhr.